El Club de los Chéveres

A Singing Voice, a Hope (Rachel Guido)

For me it was easy to get to know God. I learned about him since I was a young; actually, that was the time I learned the most about Him. I learned through the Bible to believe in his miracles and His workings; I learned to raise prayers to Him, believing He would answer.  And I learned to worship Him. In every one of these actions I learned a little bit more of God, so when I turned a teenager, He wasn’t a stranger.  I knew him pretty well.  So when I was asked if I wanted to trust my life to Him it wasn’t hard. I knew Him enough as to say yes.  And since then a new world came to me.  In an instant I found true happiness, so easy, so simple.  There is no complexity; He is with me.

Since then my desire to make others experience it too has been craving inside of me. I’ve been searching for a way.  People had told me to have others do the same thing God did with me, that is to let Him come into their lives. But they can’t! They can’t turn back in time and be kids again and learn as a child learns like I did. No, for them it is harder, they’ve been raised totally separated from that knowledge. They won’t understand; there will be more things to tumble-down first, so many misconceptions, so many lies dressed like truths, harder molds to break.  I complained to God one night in my prayer in the worship time: “God! Why they didn’t know you when they were young? Wasn’t anybody around them to talk them about You? Why didn’t You let them know You then? It would be so much easy”

So thinking in it through one night in middle of worship time I felt downhearted. There are so many kids in the world that will grow old without hearing about the real God, so many kids without experiencing it in their lives. They will be sad grownups searching for happiness, who’ll find it too hard to understand, to get it. So much harder than for a kid! What was there to do? It looked hopeless.

Suddenly, by my side, while I still had my eyes closed focus in my prayer, a little voice raised with the others in the group. It sang songs to Him with passion, with humbleness. There was this serious look in her eyes, so uncommon for a kid. She knew to whom they were addressed; she knew what she was doing. “She knows You” I whispered full of excitement. Full of joy.  I tilted my head to see her. Her voice, still sounding softly along with the melody made my heart jump. And I saw a little piece of me there. She could be a little me. She WAS a little me. She would know Him since her young years and when the time to decide to trust her life to Him comes she will say yes, because she’ll know who He is and what he has done for her and how much He had loved her. There was hope for her! I smiled until the tears blurred the blond hair and the little red nose.

Her name is Diana, she is 10 years old. The question is: why is she here? How did she get here? Well, somebody took her in, somebody brought her, and somebody loved her enough. And I knew who that person was. My friend, my best friend, Rachel, who was standing in black boots and surrounded with three other kids, next to the little girl was that person.  She seemed not to be conscious in that moment of how she was changing their lives. She had no idea how much meaning her reality held and not a clue of my burden, of my inner fight, of my prayer. But there she was standing with them, holding them, raising them, teaching them something that no one else out there will do, sharing time and a love no one will give them and giving them something more worthy that the kids could imagine. My heart couldn’t hold so much joy and thankfulness. My joy spilled, my heart ached. I could only raise prayers for her and the kids. “Blessing, many blessings!” I prayed.

Still there are many, many kids in the world spread in every direction, even though I do my little bit of work. Sometimes I just feel overwhelmed by this fact; but then, I see Rach and the kids laughing with her; and when she stares back at me, I can see her just like the man on the beach with all the starfish around him and she seems to tell me: “you see this one? Well, there is hope for this one; she’ll live!” and she goes back to them knowing that it is all worthy.

——-

Rachel Guido, 19 years old, lives like volunteer along with Paola Hermoza in la Casa Hogar “La Esperanza”. The orphanage keeps 20 kids from 3 to 15 years old in the Latin city of Cuenca- Ecuador. The house has been working since 2008 with the help of the Verbo Christian Church. The kids have more than a place to live and people who love them, they’re getting to know God, their lives are being changed, and they have more than hope…they have an ensured eternal life.

Rachel and kids from La Esperanza
Rachel and kids from La Esperanza
Responder

